• AE Weekly
  • Posts
  • Battling Perfectionism: Embracing the Beginner's Mind

Battling Perfectionism: Embracing the Beginner's Mind

Learning to Let Go and Create with Intention

AE #3: Battling Perfectionism - Embracing the Beginner's Mind

BLUF: Perfectionism can be a relentless battle, but embracing a beginner’s mindset allows us to grow and create with intention.

This issue dives into the struggles of perfectionism, the importance of being present, and the power of everyday thoughts in building a meaningful life.

I catch myself battling perfectionism more often than I’d like to admit. There’s this incessant voice in my head saying, “You were a designer, you know what’s needed. This is plain, it’s too short, and you need more content. You know what you’ve seen before.”

Shut up. Fuck, shut up.

Breathe.

Embracing the Beginner’s Mind

I remind myself, "Danielle, you said you were going to be a beginner this time." Yes, I have a past filled with experience and expertise, but this is my current present. It’s about being still, moving with awareness, but not hesitation. Doing with intention, and not a false satisfaction of progress.

Yearning for Substance

I yearn to create something of substance, to reign in my thoughts and always have them cohesive.

I want to say something meaningful, not bore you with my random everyday thoughts.

Yet, the ridiculousness is that those everyday thoughts were the foundation and staple for my business. They always have been and always will be.

I’m sharing this because I "KNOW" yet I still battle. Not suffer, but like a small child learning, I have to remind myself. It’s okay. You are right where you need to be. You are enough. You are good enough.

Insights from the Battle

Perfectionism isn’t just about wanting things to be perfect; it’s about fear. Fear of not being good enough, fear of judgment, fear of failure. These fears can paralyze us, making us doubt our abilities and our worth. But here’s the thing: perfectionism lies. It tells us we’re not enough, that our efforts are in vain.

Yet, in those moments of doubt, I remind myself to breathe, to be still, and to move with intention. This is where the beginner’s mind comes in. It’s about approaching each task with curiosity and openness, allowing myself to make mistakes and learn from them.

Learning to Let Go

Letting go of perfectionism is a continuous process. It’s about accepting that things won’t always be perfect and that’s okay. I’m learning to appreciate the journey, the growth, and the lessons along the way. It’s about being present in each moment and finding joy in the process, not just the outcome.

Recently, I’ve started journaling more intentionally. It’s a way for me to capture my thoughts, reflect on my experiences, and release the need for perfection. I’ve found that writing down my fears and anxieties helps to diminish their power over me. It’s a practice of self-compassion and acceptance.

Next Steps: Embrace Your Evolution

  • Reflect on Your Triggers and Emotions Take time to notice what triggers you and what emotions arise. These are not signs of failure but growth opportunities.

  • Be Honest with Yourself Authenticity starts with self-honesty. Acknowledge where you are in your journey without judgment.

  • Share Your Journey Sharing your story can be incredibly powerful. It helps others see that they are not alone and encourages mutual growth.

❤️ JOURNAL QUESTIONS 🙏🏼
What are some areas in your life where you struggle with perfectionism?

How can you embrace a beginner’s mindset and allow yourself to grow through imperfection?

Embracing the Beginner's Mind

Perfectionism is a battle many of us face, but it doesn’t have to control us. By embracing a beginner’s mindset and being present in each moment, we can overcome the fears that hold us back and create with intention and authenticity.

Thank you for being on this journey with me. Let’s continue to make AE Weekly a space for real, honest, and evolving conversations. 📬

Until next time, Danielle ✨

Feel free to hit reply with your thoughts or questions. Let’s keep the conversation going! 🙌

And if you think someone else would benefit from AE Weekly, please share it with them! Let's grow this community together.

🦄Join the AE Collective

If you’re looking for a supportive community focused on genuine self-improvement and spiritual growth, consider joining the AE Collective. It’s a space where we explore, learn, and grow together. Find out more about how to be part of this transformative journey here.

Work 1:1 with Me

For those who seek a more personalized approach, I offer one-on-one sessions tailored to your unique journey. Whether you need guidance, support, or a deeper connection to your spiritual path, I’m here to help. Learn more about working with me here.